Monthly Archives: July 2009

SGA Monthly Coalition Call, July 30, 2009

3:30PM EST

Attendance
Jeri Mintzer (jmintzer.2009@smartgrowthamerica.org), Lindsey Gael (lgael@smartgrowthamerica.org), Elisa Ortiz (eortiz@smartgrowthamerica.org)
Kate Rube (kraube@smartgrowthameric.org), Will Schroeer (wschroeer@smartgrowthamerica.org) – Smart Growth America, DC
Kristin Purdy (Kristin.purdy@t4america.org) – Transportation for America
Kathleen Spencer (kspencer@c-pex.org) – Center for Planning Excellence, LA
Rachel Winer (Rachel@idahosmartgrowth.org) – Idaho Smart Growth
Jim Gray (jgray@ncbcapitalimpact.org) – NCB Capital Impact
Jane Kirchner (jkirchner@farmland.org) – America Farmland Trust, DC
Gloria Katz (gfkatz@prodigy.net) – Smart Growth Partnership, Southeast Florida
Lee Epstein (lepstein@savethebay.cbf.org) – Chesapeake Bay Foundation
April Putney (april@futurewise.org) and Sara Nikolic (sara@futurewise.org) – Futurewise, WA
John Maximuk (jmaximuk@livablecommunitiescoalition.org) – Livable Communities Coalition, GA
Scott Wolf (swolf@growsmartri.com) – Grow Smart Rhode Island
Carey Knecht (cknecht@greenbelt.org) – Greenbelt Alliance, CA
Gene Krebs (gkrebs@greaterohio.org) – Greater Ohio



Public Health Community Lines Up Behind Complete Streets

A new flurry of study results, meetings, and reports from the public health community – including a specific recommendation from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention – are pointing the way toward complete streets policies as an important tool in the fight against the obesity crisis.


Small blue-collar Maryland hamlet innovates with stimulus help

The town of Edmonston in Prince George’s County, Maryland, just outside of Washington, D.C., is a small hamlet of under 2000 residents, most of them blue-collar workers. Like many other cities in America, times are tough in Edmonston, which has high rates of unemployment and foreclosure. What makes life particularly hard for Edmonston is that it is bisected by the Anacostia River. Due to poor environmental practices, the Anacostia periodically floods the town, wreaking devastation on a place already struggling to get by.




Road safety matters; spend the money right

The report featured in last Thursday’s Washington Post (“Highway Conditions Contribute to Over Half of Fatal Auto Crashes”) got it half right: highway design does affect safety. But the argument that road and bridge widening is a cure for fatalities is wrong. That recommendation could have been written in 1959, and has been refuted on the ground in projects around the country.